How To Break Through the Media Clutter as a New Filmmaker or Book Author

Gini Graham Scott
5 min readJan 31, 2024
Finding New Ways to Break Through the Media Clutter with a New Book or Film

Suppose you are a new filmmaker, and you have just found a distributor and want to promote your film or series? What if you are the author of a new independently published book? What do you do if you must do all or most of the promotion, which is common without big names, a major production company, and a big budget. Here’s a formula I discovered based on promoting two of my films that were recently released by Gravitas Ventures. You can use it for promoting a book, too.

One of the films I promoted is Conned: A True Story, based on the book The Big Con published by American Leadership Books, about how I discovered a book-to-film scam after a book publishing company hired me as ghostwriter and invented an executive producer for a real company. They used this subterfuge of a $100,000 offer from the company to get the author to pay an excessive amount for me to write legitimate material to interest producers and for a marketing campaign that went nowhere because the producer was fake. Once I discovered the scam, I stopped working for the company and turned the stories of these victims into a book which became a documentary featuring seven victims. Then, I wrote a book about different types of scams and how to avoid them, I Was Scammed, also from American Leadership Books, which was turned into the second film I promoted, Con

--

--

Gini Graham Scott

GINI GRAHAM SCOTT, Ph.D., J.D., is a nationally known writer, consultant, speaker, and seminar leader, who has published over 200 books.